The PGA Tour has established a new ‘World Champions Cup’ in which golf legends from each continent compete against teams.

The PGA Tour will hold a team competition between Champions Tour (age 50 and older) players from three continents, the US, Europe, and International, at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Florida, from December 7th to 10th (Korean time) on the 21st. announced that it would be held.

It is a senior version of the Ryder Cup, a team match between the United States and Europe every two years, and the Presidents Cup, a team match between countries excluding the United States and Europe every two years, in which three continental teams compete against each other. The game is played as a 9-hole match, with points awarded for each hole won, and after 3 days, the team with the highest points wins the championship.

Currently, only the captains (general managers) for each continent have been determined. The international team is Ernie Els (South Africa), the European team is Darren Clarke (Northern Ireland), and the US team is Jim Furyk. The six-member team will be announced later. Mainly major winners and continental legends with multiple wins on tour will participate.

The automatic qualification for each team will be determined by the top two players based on the World Champions Cup points criteria, and the second automatic qualifier will be announced soon. Two presidents for each team will also be announced, and the final players for each team will be determined based on the Charles Schwab Cup rankings at the end of the season.

World-class players of the past, such as Vijay Singh (Fiji), Bernhard Langer (Germany), and Steve Stricker (USA), are scheduled to participate. In Korea, Kyung-Joo Choi, winner of eight PGA Tour titles, and Yong-Eun Yang, winner of the 2009 PGA Championship, are active in the Champions Tour, so there is a possibility of participation.

This tournament was proposed by Peter Jacobson, a seven-time PGA Tour winner, two PGA Champions winner, 2004 U.S. Senior Open champion and golf commentator, and the broadcast will be handled by ESPN and ABC. Depending on the results of this year’s first competition, it could become a big event on the Champions Tour.온라인카지노

Ernie Els won four majors and was ranked No. 1 in the world and was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2011. He has 19 PGA Tour wins, 3 PGA Champions Tour wins and 47 international wins. He is the winner of the US Open in 1994 and 1997 and The Open in 2002 and 2012, and is nicknamed ‘Big Easy’. He has played in the Presidents Cup eight times and was captain of the competition in 2019.

Jim Furyk was the U.S. team captain for the 2018 Ryder Cup and has played in seven Presidents Cups and nine Ryder Cups. He is the 2003 US Open champion and has three Champions Tour wins, including the 2021 US Senior Open. He was in the top 10 of the world rankings from 1999 to 2016, reaching as high as number 2 in 2006. He also set the PGA Tour record for lowest stroke by shooting a round of 58 at the 2016 Travelers Championship.

Darren Clarke won the 2011 Open and last year’s Senior Open held in Gleneagles, Scotland, becoming only the fourth player in history to win both competitions. He captained the European team at the 2016 Ryder Cup with five appearances. He accumulated 15 wins in international competitions, including 2 wins at the PGA Tour World Golf Championship (WGC) and 4 wins at the PGA Tour Champions.